Quarterly on January 1, April 1, July 1 and October 1


L. Ron Hubbard’s Writers of the Future Contest is an opportunity for new writers of science fiction and fantasy to have their work judged by some of the masters in the field and discovered by a wide audience.

Entries in the Writers of the Future Contest are adjudicated only by professional writers.

Other details

Submissions must be short stories or novelettes (up to 17,000 words) in the genre of science fiction or fantasy, and new and amateur writers are welcome to apply.

Entry fees

No entry free


  • Prizes of $1000, $750 and $500 are awarded every three months
  • From the four quarterly 1st Place winners each year, a panel of judges select one story as the grand prize winner. The writer of the grand-prize-winning story receives the L. Ron Hubbard Golden Pen Award and an additional $5000 cash prize

Enrollment link

Go to here